Twenty ’90s Female-led Songs That Fuel My Nostalgia

Thin eyebrows, layered haircuts and lots of angst

Here With Me – Dido

This list will be lacking in Dido songs, but it’s only because her entire debut album, No Angel, takes 1st place. I hope whoever thought of putting Here With Me as the Roswell theme song got a raise.

Iconic line: I am what I am (a Dido stan) and I’ll do what I want (have her album constantly on repeat)

.

Don’t Speak – No Doubt

If you haven’t dramatically danced/sang to this in your bedroom, why?

Iconic line: Don’t speak, I know just what you’re sayin’/So please stop explainin’/ Don’t tell me ’cause it hurts

This is what goes through my mind whenever I receive any sort of negative feedback.

.

Bitch – Meredith Brooks

This song was not by Alanis Morrissette despite what people’s faulty memory tells them. Meredith Brooks deserved better for putting out such an iconic song.

Iconic line: Yesterday I cried/ Must have been relieved to see the softer side

Me after any minor inconvenience makes my eyes tear up.

.

Kiss Me – Sixpence None the Richer

Sadly, this song never played in the background as I walked down the stairs in slow motion revealing my brand-new haircut, make up and red dress like it happened in She’s All That. However, this only because my house doesn’t have stairs. Note to self: buy a two-story house just to recreate that scene.

Iconic line: You’ll wear those shoes and I will wear that dress

.

You Oughta Know – Alanis Morissette

As much as I love this song, I equally love the rendition by that woman in the Woman Regularly Trolls Her Husband by Loudly Singing Alanis Morissette Songs video.

Iconic line: I hate to bug you in the middle of dinner

In and out of context, it’s just a great line.

.

Just a Girl – No Doubt

Gwen Stefanie was never just a girl, she was THE girl of the 90s.

Iconic line: ‘Cause I’m just a girl, I’d rather not be/ ‘Cause they won’t let me drive late at night

Honestly, I wouldn’t allow myself to drive late at night ’cause I’m a terrible driver.

.

Torn – Natalia Imbruglia

Lmao at young me thinking I could pull off Natalia’s haircut/outfit from this music video.

Iconic line: THE ENTIRE SONG

.

Erase/Rewind – The Cardigans

As someone who hates making decisions and changes her mind every 5 minutes, this song speaks to my soul.

Iconic line: So, where did you see me go/ It’s not the right way, you know

.

Dreams – The Cardigans

Perfect situation to play this song: driving into a new city where your life will be changing every day in every possible way.

Iconic line: The intro music.

.

If it Makes You Happy – Sheryl Crow

If it makes you happy, it can’t be that bad is what I sing every time I pour myself my third daily cup of coffee as I ignore my trembling hands.

Iconic line: Put on a poncho, played for mosquitos/ And drank til I was thirsty again

.

My Favorite Game – The Cardigans

My favorite game is seeing whether I can fall asleep at 1 am after random memories of all those times I said/did the wrong thing pop up in my mind. As The Cardigans predicted, I’m losing 😦

Iconic line: Again, the intro music

.

I Think I’m Paranoid – Garbage

This is the song I would play in my iPod when I would walk back to my college dorm late at night constantly on the look out for stranger danger.

Iconic line: Love me, like me, come ahead and fight me/ Please me, tease me, go ahead and leave me.

.

You Learn – Alanis Morissette

Dear Alanis, thank you for making me realize that I can use “It’s a learning experience” as an excuse for every mistake I make.

Iconic line: I, recommend biting off more than you can chew to anyone… I, recommend sticking your foot in your mouth at any time

I took these recommendations a little too seriously.

.

Who Will Save Your Soul – Jewel

I can’t believe Jewel wrote this when she was 16. When I was 16, I think my only artistic talent was not making my self-portrait art class assignment look completely deformed.

Iconic line: We’re so worried about saving our souls/ Afraid that God will take his toll/ That we forget to begin

.

There She Goes – Sixpence None the Richer

I feel like this song came out in a rom-com but I’m not sure which one. Was it every single one?

Iconic line: There she goes/ There she goes again

I mean it’s 90% of the song.

.

All I Wanna Do – Sheryl Crow

Whenever I think of the “cool girl” trope, I think of Sheryl Crow and this song.

Iconic line: This ain’t no disco/ And it ain’t no country club either/ This is L.A.

.

Ode to My Family – The Cranberries

I play this song whenever I’m homesick and I don’t know why because it only makes it worse. I guess it’s the equivalent of watching sad movies when you’re sad.

Iconic line: My mother she’d hold me… my father, he liked me

.

Head over Feet – Alanis Morissette

Iconic line: You are the bearer of unconditional things/ You held your breath and the door for me

#Goals #Can’t Relate

.

Tom’s Diner – Suzanne Vega, DNA

That one song no one can remember the lyrics to but will make you go crazy because you know the tune but can’t google it because you can’t remember the darn lyrics.

Iconic line: Du du du du du, du du du du du, Du du du du du, Du du du du du

.

I’m Only Happy When It Rains – Garbage

The type of 90’s girl who listened to this song definitely wore cargo pants and chipped nail polish.

Iconic line: I feel good when things are goin’ wrong/ I only listen to the sad, sad songs

I think this explains why listening to the Dateline podcast calms me down.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started